Hey, I am Paula and I study Economics in the beautiful Freiburg, in the south of Germany

If you had a day off, what would be the first thing you would want to do?

My day would definitely start with reading and the consumption of multiple cups of coffee or some fancy tea. If it is sunny out I´d choose the balcony as my designated relaxing spot for a couple of hours, listen to music, maybe a few podcasts. Later I would take my analog camera for a walk and see where the day takes me. Going to the lake or a park, cooking dinner with some friends, spontaneously deciding to see a movie or have some lovely chats over a glass of wine in a bar. 

Name a problem that you would like to solve? 

As a student of economics I am very interested in tackling complex socioeconomic and environmental issues and understanding what happens when markets and corporations interrelate with our everyday lives. Identifying problematic dynamics and biases in our current systems and working on ideas and policies  that lead to more favorable and fair outcomes, equal opportunities and conditions for everyone whilst ensuring a more sustainable future. Lately I´ve been learning quite a bit about the housing crisis and rent affordability in our urban spaces that leads to growing inequality and think this is a super interesting field. 

One thing you want to do before you’re thirty?

Do a longer multi pitch climb in the Alps, I am super passionate about rock climbing and spending time in the mountains. Another experiment I’d love to try is renting a tiny cottage somewhere for a month with the aim to solely focus on a single bigger project like writing fiction.